Birth certificates are available from anywhere within Texas from the year 1926 (in most cases) and City of Tyler births are available from the year 1910.
Death certificates are available for deaths that occurred within the City of Tyler from the year 1910.
Please keep in mind it did not become mandatory to record the important life events until the mid-1930s.
Birth and death records are not public records and are therefore issued only to qualified applicants. A qualified applicant is defined by the State of Texas as the registrant, his/her immediate family member either by blood, marriage, or adoption; his/her guardian or legal agent (must provide proper documentation).
Immediate family includes yourself, mother, father, brother, sister, grandparent, or child. Please be advised: if a father is not listed on the certificate no one on the father's side will be allowed to obtain copies.
Adequate state approved ID (click here) is required for a birth or death certificate request.
You may obtain a certified birth or death record in person at the 815 N. Broadway, Tyler, Texas office.
You will be required to fill out an application listing the name of the person, date of birth or death, place of birth or death, parent's names, your name and address, and you will be required to provide adequate state approved ID (click here) in order to confirm your identity. The process usually takes no more than about 10 minutes.
You may order your records online at vitalchek.com (click here). If you are unable to order in person, VitalChek is the next best option. These orders and delivered by UPS.
You may also request a birth or death certificate by mail. Please print and fill out the appropriate application, include the notarized verification, send a copy of your adequate state approved (click here), and money order or cashier's check for the fee. Please include a self-addressed stamped envelope. Our address is NET Health, Local Registrar, 815 N. Broadway Ave., Tyler, Texas 75702, turnaround time for a mail request is about 3 to 4 days, requests are mailed out as soon as the same day of receipt by our office.
Fees for certified birth and death records are set by the Texas Legislature. The fee for a certified birth certificate is $23.00 each. The fee for a certified death certificate is $21.00 for the first certificate and $4.00 for each additional certificate requested at the same time.
In-person requests allow us to accept cash, local personal checks (over #300), business checks, or debit/credit cards.
Requests by mail will require money order or cashier's check.
VitalChek orders will require the use of debit/credit card.
If you need general information about birth and death certificates, other state contact information (click here), or if you need information about correcting a birth or death certificate, please call our office at ( extension 300, 301, or 303.
Please print and complete the Notary Verification Form (required for mail-in orders) along with appropriate forms below:
Notary Verification Form
Certificado Aplicacion de Nacimiento
Birth Application in English
Certificado Aplication de Muerte
Death Certificate Application in English