

## P.O. BOX 2039 • TYLER, TEXAS 75710

## APRIL 28, 2022 PRESS RELEASE

## NOMINATIONS WELCOMED FOR W. T. "DOC" BALLARD AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN PUBLIC HEALTH

The Northeast Texas Public Health District (NET Health) announces that nominations are now being accepted for the 2022 W.T. "Doc" Ballard Award for Excellence in Public Health. This 23<sup>rd</sup> annual award will honor an individual or organization exemplifying the concept of public health distinguished by dedication to the goal of protecting and promoting the health of the community.

The nominee does not need to be a Public Health professional. Services provided by the nominee may be in the area of civic, cultural, health, welfare, religious or philanthropic endeavors.

NET Health established the W.T. "Doc" Ballard Award for Excellence in Public Health as a lasting recognition of Mr. Ballard's contribution to Public Health. W. T. "Doc" Ballard began his career in 1946 and as a registered professional engineer for the Texas Department of Health he was a leader in protecting the health of the public. His expertise and administrative skills ensured the environmental controls crucial to the quality and safety of public drinking water and public food service; the proper disposal of wastewater and solid waste; and the monitoring of radiation.

As a charter member of the NET Health Board of Directors, "Doc" served as a key figure in the formation and establishment of the Health District. He continued his service as Chairman of the Board and was a mentor to many. Throughout his career he was an active member of many professional organizations dedicated to improving the quality of Public Health. Both professionally and personally, "Doc" worked hard to help both the citizens of Northeast Texas and the entire state of Texas.

This award is NET Health's highest accolade for outstanding service contributing significantly to the enhancement of Public Health. Previous recipients of this award are:

2000 – Luther Yates

2001 - Brenda Elrod

2002 – Richard J. "Dick" De Santo

2003 – Susan Bennett, R.D.

2004 – David Knowles, M.D.

2005 – Keith McCoy, Ph.D.

2006 – John English, M.D.

2007 – Bennie Webster, Ed.D.

2007 – Marvin Ellis

2008 – Robert Westbrook

2009 – Jonathan MacClements, M.D.

2010 – Ben Bridges, M.D.

2010 - Reverend Ralph Caraway, Sr.

2011 – Dave Berry

2012 - Harold Higgins

2013 - Kirk A. Calhoun, M.D.

2014 – Barbara Bass

2015 - Paul McGaha, D.O.

2016 – Thomas A. Lowery, M.D.

2017 – David L. Lakey, M.D.

2018 – Jeffrey Levin, M.D.

2019 - Valerie Smith, M.D.

2020 – Jeffrey Levin, M.D.

2020 - Bruce Carter, M.D.

2021 – Nathaniel Moran

2021 – Don Warren

2021 - UT Tyler School of Pharmacy

Examples of the areas of public health service may include but are not limited to:

- Environmental Health/Food Safety
- Public Health Nursing
- Nutrition
- Public Health Programs/Administration
- Public Health Engineering
- Health Promotion
- Water Hygiene
- Preventive Health & Education

Judges for the selection of the award will include two members of the NET Health Board of Directors, the Chief Executive Officer of NET Health, one representative from the Texas Department of State Health Services Region 4/5N, one representative of the Smith County AgriLife Extension Office, and NET Health's Director of the Environmental Health Department.

Nominations for this award may be made either by an individual or an organization. The following items are required for all nominations:

- The nomination letter should include a description of why the nominee is deserving of
  this award. Descriptions should be specific and concise (250 words or less) and should
  demonstrate the nominee's work to create a positive impact on the health of the public.
- The nomination must be mailed to NET Health, Attn: W.T. "Doc" Ballard Award,
   315 N. Broadway, Suite 404, Tyler, TX 75702.
- 3. A one-page biographical sketch (or vitae) of the nominee.
- 4. No more than 5 supporting documents such as letters of support, journal, articles, etc.
- 5. One 4" X 5" photograph of the nominee.

All nominations must be received by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, May 20, 2022. For more information, please contact George Roberts, Chief Executive Officer of NET Health, at (903) 535 - 0036.

This year's honoree will be announced at the NET Health Board meeting on Thursday, June 30, 2022. Thank you for your interest and support of Public Health.

George T. Roberts, Jr. Chief Executive Officer